The Meaning of LTO’s Restriction and Condition Codes On Your Driver’s License

Last Updated on

Applicable restriction codes and condition codes are indicated in an individual’s Professional or Non-Professional Driver’s License. Here’s everything you need to know about them:


What is the LTO restriction code?

When you successfully get a driver’s license, it’s important to know which types of motor vehicles you’re allowed to drive. This is where restriction codes apply.

If you’re caught driving a type of vehicle that you’re not licensed to drive, you can face penalties and charges.

Motor vehicles are classified into restriction codes according to the Gross Vehicle Weight or GVW.

GVW refers to the total mass of a vehicle which is the net weight of the vehicle plus the weight of the cargo, driver, passengers, and any accessories.

The following are the Restriction Codes according to the Gross Vehicle Weight:

  • 1 – Motorbikes or Motorized Tricycles
  • 2 – Motor Vehicles with up to 4,500 kg. GVW (manual and automatic clutch)
  • 3 – Motor Vehicles with over 4,500 kg. GVW (manual and automatic clutch)
  • 4 – Automatic Transmission Vehicles with up to 4,500 kg. GVW
  • 5 – Automatic Transmission Vehicles with over 4,500 kg. GVW
  • 6 – Articulated Vehicle with up to 1,600 kg. GVW
  • 7 – Articulated Vehicle with GVW between 1,600 kg. and 4,500 kg.
  • 8 – Articulated Vehicle with 4,501 kg. GVW and above (Truck – Trailer)

Take note that the above list has been updated based on the clarification made under the Memorandum Circular No. 2019-2174 (see the document below).

Memorandum Circular no. 2019-2174

According to the above memorandum, drivers with restriction codes 2 and 3 can drive cars with either manual or automatic transmission, while those with restriction codes 4 and 5 can only drive cars with automatic transmission.

Restriction code 2 is only limited to light commercial vehicles that don’t weigh more than 4,500 kilograms (GVW) which include Kia K2500, L300, and most variants of Fuso Canter. Restriction 2, on the other hand, enables drivers with professional training to maneuver larger, heavier vehicles like refrigerated vans, dropside trucks, and wing vans, among others.

Restriction codes 4 and 5 are simply the automatic transmission counterparts of the two previously mentioned codes.

The articulated vehicles under restriction codes 6-8 refer to vehicles with joints such as payloaders that can bend, truck or tractor heads withy any kind of trailer, etc.

Related: How to Apply for Additional Restriction Codes On Your Driver’s License


What is the LTO condition code?

During the practical driving test, your ability to operate a vehicle will be assessed. It will be identified which conditions shall apply to you depending on your needs.

The conditions will help you drive safely. For example, if you have problems driving without your eyeglasses, a specific condition will be indicated in your driver’s license.

Here’s the list of conditions from A to E that may or may not be indicated in your driver’s license:

  • A – Wear eyeglasses
  • B – Drive with special equipment for upper limbs
  • C – Drive with special equipment for lower limbs
  • D – Daylight driving only
  • E – Should always be accompanied by a person without hearing impairment

It must be noted that the special driving conditions or special equipment that must be used will be assessed by an LTO driver evaluator.

Go back to the main article: How to Apply for a Driver’s License in the Philippines: An Ultimate Guide